What gets you through

“The difference between the impossible and the possible lies in a person’s determination.” –Tommy Lasorda

“Extraordinary accomplishments only happen when your passion produces extraordinary effort. If it doesn’t consume you, be ready to accept mediocre results.”– John Rennie, Duke University Soccer.

“Ah, but a man’s reach should exceed his grasp, or what’s heaven for?”–Robert Browning

OK…do you get the picture?? What get’s you through not just good and bad times, but to the next level?? I always find it interesting to listen to how people made it to their goals, not just the step by step process one has to follow, but the little things. Mine ranges from inspirational quotes to crazy superstition!!

I bring this up as I am now in my “off season” and really training hard to be competitive at the next level. It can be tough sometimes as I have spent the last year and a half dieting and competing solid! My body has taken a beating and now needs some serious repair and revamping. I can tell myself this, but somedays I find it hard from one extreme to the other. I mean from getting the motivation to get to the gym and push the wts (this being one extreme) to telling myself that I DON’T need to do an extra session of cardio or that it IS ok to have a cheat meal this week!! I am a creature of habit and can either get to comfortable or can get to driven. I need these quotes to either push me or to slow me down. I need to realize that everything has its timing and will happen at the right time if I keep my goals in check and what the next level requires me to get there!

“Sweat plus sacrifice equals success.” –Charles O. Finley, Oakland Athletics Owner

“The ability to prepare to win is as important as the will to win.”–Bobby Knight

I just keep these quotes around me and an image of what my next goal is and that is enough to keep me motivated, gets me through it to the next level. Think about what it is that gets you through it, to your next level, whatever your goal is, it is important because it is YOUR goal!! Share and let me know what you do or what you use to keep you motivated!!

xoxo,

Andrea

http://fittron.com/andrea_dumon

Leave a Reply

